Wednesday, February 21, 2007

The land of all u can eat and drink

Thats right, weve reached Japan. We actually got here a couple of days ago but I have not really felt like spending much time in front of the computer because I will be doing enough of that when I get home.

Our first day here we went for all u can eat food and drink for 30 bucks, and we did. Ohhhh did we ever. We then came back to Aaron and Megumis place (if you have not noticed yet I cannot find the apostrophe key) and had some more drinks and danced up a storm. We talked too, it was Aaron, Megumi, Yoshi and his wife Uko, Mizue (that is probably spelled wrong but you say her name mee-zoo-eh, Dustin, a guy named Joe, and Megumis sister Hiromi.

After being loud at A & Ms for too long Aaron, Dustin and Mizue went out to soul-sonic for a beer because Megumi had to work the next day. We did not last too long there and on the way home we had some night lunch, ramen, which Kurume is supposed to be known for. It was noodles in a pork broth with some pieces of pork added. After a long night it was delicious. So that was monday night.

Wednesday is Megumis day off so last night we were out late. Pretty much the same people came out to A & Ms (minus Joe and Hiromi) and we had hotpot, I guess maybe its Japans version of it? I do not know but it was good, miso soup base with cabbbage and sprouts and green onion (sort of, it is not but it looks like it) and chicken and bacon and little sausages. It was really good. Everyone was tired after eating so much so we lounged around for a while, people got even more tired and soon it was just the 4 of us. So we went out for karaoke, all you can drink karaoke. We actually had a blast, on the way home we were going to stop at Jolly Pasta for some pizza/pasta but it was closed. Oh well, so we came back to the apartment for some soup and giyoza, I think I ate 15/20 of them, they were sooo good.

So now it is today, Wednesday. We slept in, went for a short hike up a mountain/hill to a temple. It was good, we have not done a heck of a lot of sightseeing on this trip, it was good to get out. For lunch we went to Yoshinoya, which is kinda like a fast food joint here, we had beef strips with some sauce on a bed of rice. It was good. Tonight? Who knows, we have a coupon for half off take out sushi but we just realized it expired on the 15th. Hahaha, Aarons going to be annoyed. He is teaching until 630 so he should be home at any minute.

So thats an update. I will post all about what we did in Korea soon (which was mostly visiting people and pretty much no visiting sites, which I am actually totally ok with), until then I am going to try and figure out which one of these buttons means *post*.

No comments: