Friday, February 09, 2007

Is it a half moon already?

It seems that the moon is important to the people in Thailand (maybe not necessarily the Thai people) and it is reason to celebrate.

Since we've last been in contact....I don't know whats all happened.

We were on Lanta for a little over a week. In that time Aaron had to head home, we hung out there a couple more days, 3 I think, and then Dustin and I parted ways with Matt (that was yesterday) as we headed for ko phangan. Now we're there, it's nice but we're now seeing the first clouds in probably 2 or 3 weeks. It's kinda nice.

Good times seem to be happening all the time. We've rented bikes almost everyday as the islands are much easier and cheaper to just drive around yourself than to rent tuk-tuks to go everywhere. One tuk-tuk ride is usually around 300 baht, renting a bike is like 150....doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that one out.


We finally managed to get all our flights figured out so we've now paid for every part of the trip that will get us home (except the ferry ride from Pusan to Fukuoka) which is nice. I wasn't really worried but it's nice to have it all taken care of.

Our travels to ko phangan yesterday were long and there were a lot of people doing the exact same trip as us. So that meant we met some nice people, this couple from spain/france Rauel sp? and Melody, and two friends from Sydney, Naomi and Lisa. We wound up talking for quite a while as we travelled for > 12 hours (although not with them for the whole time). We picked ko phangan because we hadn't been to the east coast at all and we hadn't been in any sort of "happening" place at all either and figured we'd like to see a little. This means no time in bangkok at all but I think I'd like to see all the north around here and thats a whole other trip on it's own. Thems the breaks I guess.

I wish I had a funny story to tell. Our place in ko phangan is called "munchies" which is pretty funny. Funnier still is that the toilet in our "bungalo" (which it really is, on stilts and all) has a full on squatter with no TP and no ... hose thing either. Makes things pretty darn interesting. We managed to steal some TP from the eating area last night and this morning we found a public style place with a real toilet, TP and a spray hose thing. It was like finding a lost temple or something, dustin and both hit it up, battleshits stlye. hahahaha.

So I guess thats all for now. We stayed at the Sunset Bungaloes on Lanta, the people there were awesome, the room rates were not too bad, the food was great and the beach was the best on the island. If your ever there just go and order the musamin (think thats what it's called) every night and they'll know that we're related somehow. I wish we would've taken a picture of the people who ran the place.

Oh well.

Party on,
mark.

No comments: