So we landed in Budapest yesterday morning a bit after 5. That was after falling out of the train a bit before a bit after 5. There was a big music festival near Belgrade called "Exit" I think (in Novi Sad maybe) and so the train, after looking like it was going to be mostly empty (we finally managed to get our own cabin on the train) wound up being over full, every compartment was packed and the hallways were lined with people all wanting to be sitting somewhere comfortable so they could sleep for the remaining 5 hours of train ride. First time I've ever been saved by the manditory seat reservation but it was worth every cent of the 2 or 3 euros we had to pay for it.
That's pretty much the news. I was hoping we'd head to Kosovo but the amount of travel to get there would have been insane. Looking at the map it probably doesn't seem like a lot of trouble but you can only enter kosovo through certain borders and the ones we were close to were not part of that set. Everyone had mostly had enough of the coastal lifestyle and heading north meant an easier trip back to the airport in germany so Budapest it was. Followed by Prague (I think) for me. We'll see I guess.
In other news, if you are a small child reading this, read this post with a filter because it's about to get awkward or something.
Last night we were walking around looking for a place to eat, we wound up on the "shopping" road on the north end heading south. We passed the usual 2 H & M's and still hadn't picked a place, la-dee-da, we keep walking, all of a sudden this dude in a suite comes up to me and asks "you like the boobs? pussy? fucky sucky?" and his voice is so funny and his words so un expected i couldn't help but laugh, it seems we had managed to walk right into the stripclub/whatever club part of town and I was not prepared. so we turned the corner and found a place to eat. I wasn't expecting much because we were a stones throw from dirty alley but I wound up having one of the best meals of the trip. Don't get me wrong, almost anything wrapped in bacon is going to be good but the bacon wrapped tender beef thing I had yesterday with potatoe in wedge format all spicey and saucey was amazing. The place was called apotels or something, it looked a lot like apostel but wasn't quite. Anyway, i recommend it. Our waiter was super awesome too.
Anyway. Back to "real" life.
mark.
2 comments:
perfect, next time i'm in Budapest i'll totally check out that restaurant - around the corner from the fucky sucky, you say?
it's you're next left, about 1/2 way down the street. their goulash is so-so but i would eat anything they wrapped in bacon.
Post a Comment