Saturday, March 24, 2007

Working

I just want to let everyone know that getting motivated to work from home on the weekend is hard. One tends to spend time doing frivolous tasks to avoid doing the work and feeling even worse about it in the end. Today I'm trying something new. Red Bull. So far we're experiencing mixed results.

There's a couple of things i'd like to say

First and foremost. Blogs that don't get posted to very often are lame. Lame like ... well, any description of this type of lame would leave you feeling like I'd just offended someone so I won't go there. But, your still reading so I say Kudos, with a capital K because you rock and I wish I could give back to you in some way.

Second. This one is kinda good. I've grown a moustache in the last couple of weeks (say 3 just for kicks). On St. Patricks day I went out with some really good friends. I was told by several men/young men that my moustache rocked (7 to be more precise), only one young lady (by the name of Robin) would admit that she liked the 'stache.

So tonight I went out with some friends to the kings head pub. It was a good time, we had a blast; one of the big things I noticed tonight was that the ladies couldn't help giving me the "eyes". "Why?" I asked myself. I mean, I've been told by so many of my lady type friends that the 'stache is detrimental to my plan of one day meeting the right women and ... i dunno, blah blah blah.

So anyway. The whole story comes down to the movie Cocktail. Does anyone, other than Dustin, remember the part where the dude says "Coughlans law, a girl will admire you for the amount of alcohol you can drink whether she likes it or not." Wellllllll, I do. I'd like to make another phrase somewhat similar to that one. "A girl will admire you for your fantastic moustache whether she likes it or not." Seriously, I can't remember the last time I went into a bar and almost every girl looked at me. I mean, I'm no hotty but I'm not like looking at a dirty toilet seat but it was crazy tonight. I think it's somewhat like being a bad-boy, one of those guys that girls love to hate and then take home at the end of the night (except nobody took me home). So that is my story. I also need a new spacebar as this one is totally f'd.

word.

Monday, March 12, 2007

A little bit of Japanese heaven

Trying the sake in a jar....
 

Loving the sake in a jar....
 
Posted by Picasa

Thursday, March 08, 2007

And another thing!

First of all, comments where the simpsons are quoted or their actions are quoted are more than welcome.

Second. I meant to mention that I've been listening to the new Modest Mouse album "We were dead before the ship even sank" and it's fantastic. So if anyone would like to have a discussion about the fanasticness of this album just let me know, I'm game.

Third. I've been meaning to post about toilet seats in Japan for ... I dunno ... at least since that fateful night of February 25th. Did I post about this already? Who cares, it excites me so much I'll double post.

Toilets and their operations were fairly uniform in my mind before I left for east asia. This is no longer the case. Squatters, no toilet paper, little spray nozzles, no little spray nozzles and no toilet paper and just a shower? It was always a crap shoot going into a bathroom and it was like hitting the jackpot when you found a sit down toilet with a spray hose and tp. This "pinnacle" of bathroom amenity was overtaken in Japan. The heated toilet seat. And not awkwardly warm like someone just sat on it, it was more like getting in a hot tub hot. At first a little too hot and you want to get out but you know that in a minute or two it will feel just right. Thats the kind of hot it was. But thats not even the beginning of it. On this toilet seat, just off to the side there are some buttons. One that has a black square on it, and then several that have a little spraying water icon along with another icon that looks like a bum. Hrm, what could this be? Of course I had to try it. I have no idea what the other two bumspray buttons did, but the one right beside the black square shot a warm spray of water directly at my "anuse" (think borat because it's funnier that way). How the heck did it know exactly where but butt whole was? I have no idea but it was delightful. So you wiggle your tousch around a little to, you know, clean up, and then you expect the spray to end? Right? It's going to stop? Dear Lord, it's starting to tickle. Ahhhh, I can't stop laughing. Ahhhhhh. Ok, this is getting out of control, I'm going to have to do something, maybe push another button. Oh, I'm stupid, the black square icon looks suspiciously like a "stop" button on any type of media player. And then the pleasure ended. I did not stop laughing though, and the water was so warm, pre-heated I found out later.

So as soon as I get enough money I will be on a quest to find this perfect toilet attachment. Fun for all ages!

thats it for now, I'm really gonig to go read the paper now.
mark.

Post "the best part of your life so far" depression

I'd been in the weirdest funk for just over a week. I finally broke free somewhere around Tuesday. Now I'm actually feeling happy and the only thing holding me back is the fact that I can't manage to finish my first task at work, and money.

What was this "weirdest funk"? Well, it was mostly going to work, getting home at 6, going to bed at 6:30 and sleeping till 6 or 7 the next morning. I pretty much did that for a whole week, except for Saturday where I just slept all day and then went out at night. Karaoke has begun to get a lot more fun to me and I think I appreciate good DJ's more now. Mike b has helped me out on that end.

So now that I'm once again a well adjusted individual I wake up between 6 and 7, get a wired monk coffee, read the paper (which for some reason we've just begun receiving for no apparent reason) and generally just be happy before work. The actual work part has been fine also, other than I'm now 4 days overdue on my first task. I'm the only one who seems concerned about this so I'm guessing they had planned for this. After work I'm now going to bed at 10 or 1030, I've never been so proud of myself!

Well, I better read the paper right now because I don't want it to stop coming.

mark.

Friday, March 02, 2007

The Mail

This is just a note for anyone who intends to mail something from Malaysia to Canada. The 1.50 Ringget price to mail something gets your mail to its destination in approximately, well lets see, I sent it on Jan 30th or so, it arrived March 2. So a little over a month. Maybe think about asking the person at the post office if there is a faster way to get it there. Just a thought.

Hrm. Not much else to say. I guess I could get ready for work. My sleep schedule is so messed up right now I have no way of predicting when I'm suddenly going to get so tired I have to sleep. It's like a little game my body and I are having and generally, it's winning. Marks body 1 - Mark 0.

True.
mark.